About The Association

The Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians (CAFP) was founded in 1987 and established in 1996 by an Act of Parliament, the Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians Act.  It is a non-partisan, voluntary association of former Senators and Members of Parliament from all political parties.

The combined knowledge and experience of this group is significant – and valuable.  By joining and volunteering to participate in CAFP’s many initiatives, former parliamentarians share their expertise and work to build and improve the mechanisms of democracy.  Through their participation, members benefit from the opportunity to stay engaged in public life and public service. 

Recognizing the tremendous potential of this pool of talent, CAFP has developed numerous programs that are designed to strengthen democratic institutions and encourage public participation in the political process, both in Canada and around the world.  The CAFP Educational Foundation was created to raise funds to finance these programs. 

The Association also seeks to foster a spirit of community among former parliamentarians, and organizes annual activities to this purpose. 


The Association is managed by an Executive Director and two Logistics Officers under the direction of an elected Board of Directors representing all regions of the country.  The Educational Foundation has its own Board of Directors. 

The Speaker of the Senate, the Hon. George Furey, and the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Hon. Geoff Regan, are Honorary Co-Chairpersons of the Association.

Contact Us

Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians

P.O. Box 1, 131 Queen Street
Parliament Buildings
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
Phone: 613-947-1690 / 1-888-567-4764
Fax: 613-947-1764

Copyright © 2018 Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians.